Master of Science in Business Informatics

In the following you can find information about the structure and the examination regulations for the Master of Science in Business Informatics.

If you have further questions, you may contact us via mail (fim@fim.uni-mannheim.de), phone (0621 / 181 – 2426) or face-to-face (building A5, 6, room C001).

Structure of studies

The master degree in Business Informatics at the University of Mannheim offers many choices, while planing your studies. Overall the studies comprise 120 ECTS points, which are divided as follows:

  • 78 ECTS courses
  • 12 ECTS Team Project
  • 30 ECTS Master Thesis

The standard period of studies is 4 semesters.

Courses

The courses can be viewed in the current module catalog.

Generally speaking there are two kinds of courses: Fundamentals and Specialization courses. Overall you need to bring forth 78 ECTS, which equals 13 modules (on average each Module is worth 6 ECTS). The split of the modules can be decided by yourself: either 6 fundamental and 7 specialization courses or 7 fundamentals and 6 specialization courses.

Fundamental courses can be attended by any student no matter wich track is chosen, but here are some regulations which apply. They are subdivided into three categories, in each of which you have to bring forth a certain minimum amount of ECTS:

  • Computer Science: 12-24 ECTS
  • Business Informatics: 12-24 ECTS
  • Business Administration: 0-18 ECTS

Specialization courses are dependend on the so called ‘Specialization Track’, a certain direction in which you want to specialize yourself in. During the winter semester (HWS 16/17) the following Specialization Tracks are offered:

  • Information Technology
  • Systems Design and Development
  • Enterprise Applications
  • Data and Web Science
  • Software Engineering

You choose your track implicit, which means there is no need to sign up for the track directly. During the course of your studies it will automatically be determined by the choices of your specialization modules. One thing you have to be aware of is: at least 5 modules have to be from the same track and up to two may be from a different track. One Module can be assigned to more than one track (more details can be found in the Module catalog). The seminar paper with its 4 ECTS and the Scientific Research Seminar with 2 ECTS count together as one course of the ‘Specialization Track’.

It is your own decision in which order you attend the lectures. There is no requirement to complete all fundamental courses before you are able to attend a course from your specialization track. Most of the requirements from the module catalog for the courses are not mandatory requirements but may be seen as a general recommendation to ensure the premises for a successful participation in the course are met.

Team Project

The team project is mandatory and accounts for 12 ECTS. Depending on the project you choose it may last 1 or 2 semesters. In the beginning of each semester there is a team project presentation by the chairs of the faculty. Following the presentation you are able to choose your priorities and based on those you will be assigned to a project.

Examination regulations

The Examination regulations is probably the most important document for your studies and includes the rules concerning choices of modules, exams, calculation of grades and more. The following section will give you some of the most important information from it. In case you have further questions you can read the document yourself or contact us.

Examination period

Each semester has two periods of examination. The primary dates are in the two weeks following the last week of lectures, the secondary dates in the last week before the next semester commences. Here you may find an overview of all dates. Most courses let you decide if you want to take the exam at the first or secondary date. One thing you need to consider is that in the case you fail on the secondary date, then you might have to wait for one year until you can take the second try. The reason is that most courses are only offered once a year.

Exam registration

Each semester there is a two week period, during which you can register yourself for the exams (the registration is usually done via the Portal²). For the winter semester this period is usually in October and for the spring semester in April. This period depends on the faculty which offers the course. The period is earlier for courses of the faculty for Business Administration than for those of the faculty of Business Informatics. Usually the first ends around two days before the next begins, this means it can happen that one forgets to register. All Business Administration fundamentals are accounted for by the faculty for Business Administration but also modules of the Area Information Systems.

In the case that you do miss one of the registration periods, you can still register late, but this comes with a fee of 10€ for each exam. This fee also applies if you deregister yourself of any exam outside the registration period.

If you fail an exam the registration for the next available retake date is done automatically. In this case it is also no longer possible to deregister not even against a fee.

Withdrawl from an exam

Sometimes you are not able to write an exam due to one of the following reasons: illness or other/personal reasons.

In this case you can find detailed information on the website of the bureau of student affairs.

Exam retake

A failed exam can be repeated once. The second retrial („Joker“) is only possible twice during the course of your studies. Only the master thesis and the team project are exempt from this rule.

Furthermore you can exchange a module with a failed attempt with another module, but you carry the unsuccessful attempt into the new one.

Contact points for questions

In the case you are left with open questions after reading this site and the website of the faculty (www.wim.uni-mannheim.de) there are the following contacts for you:

Master Wifo

Hier findet ihr Informationen zum Studiengang und der Prüfungsordnung des Masters Wirtschaftsinformatik.

Bei Fragen oder Probleme haben, könnt ihr euch gerne per Mail (fim@fim.uni-mannheim.de), telefonisch (0621 / 181 – 2426) oder direkt (im Gebäude A5, 6, Raum C001) an uns wenden.

Struktur des Studiums

Der Master of Science in Wirtschaftsinformatik in Mannheim bietet viele Wahlmöglichkeiten. Der Studiengang umfasst insgesamt 120 ECTS Punkte, die wie folgt aufgeteilt sind:

  • 78 ECTS Kurse
  • 12 ECTS Team Projekt
  • 30 ECTS Master Thesis

Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt 4 Semester.

Kurse

Alle Kurse können im aktuellen Modulkatalog eingesehen werden.

Generell gibt es zwei Arten von Kursen: Fundamentals und Specialization Kurse. Insgesamt müsst ihr 78 ECTS erbringen, was insgesamt 13 Modulen entspricht (jedes Modul hat in der Regel 6 ECTS). Die Verteilung der Module könnt ihr bestimmen: entweder 6 Fundamentals und 7 Specializations oder 7 Fundamentals und 6 Specializations.

Fundamentals können (und müssen bis zu einem bestimmten Grad) von jedem gehört werden. Sie werden in drei Bereiche aufgeteilt, in denen ihr bestimmte Mindestanzahlen von ECTS erbringen müsst:

  • Computer Science: 12-24 ECTS
  • Business Informatics: 12-24 ECTS
  • Business Administration: 0-18 ECTS

Specialization Kurse hängen von eurer Wahl des sogenannten Specialization Tracks ab, eine Richtung in der ihr euch spezialisieren wollt. In diesem Semester (HWS 16/17) werden folgende Specialization Tracks angeboten:

  • Information Technology
  • Systems Design and Development
  • Enterprise Applications
  • Data and Web Science
  • Software Engineering

Ihr wählt euren Track implizit, d.h. ihr müsst ihn nirgendwo angeben, sondern er wird „automatisch“ durch die Wahl eurer Module festgelegt. Achtung: ihr müsst mindestens 5 Module aus einem Track belegen, 1-2 dürfen trackfremd sein. Ein Modul kann hierbei mehreren Tracks zugeordnet sein (genauere Infos findet ihr im Modulkatalog). Die Seminararbeit mit 4 ECTS und das Scientific Research Seminar mit 2 ECTS werden bei dieser Rechnung der Einfachheit halber zu einem Kurs aus dem Specialization Track zusammengefasst.

Wann ihr welche Kurse macht, bleibt eure Entscheidung. Es müssen nicht erst alle Fundamentals abgeschlossen sein, bevor ihr Kurse aus dem Specialization Track hören könnt. Die Anforderungen im Modulkatalog sind meistens nicht verpflichtend vorausgesetzt, sondern nur Empfehlungen, die sicherstellen sollen, dass man die richtigen Voraussetzungen mitbringt, um den Kurs bestehen zu können.

Team Projekt

Das Team Projekt ist verpflichtend und besteht immer aus 12 ECTS. Diese können auf entweder 1 oder 2 Semester verteilt sein, was projektabhängig ist. Zu Beginn jedes Semesters gibt es eine Team Projekt Vorstellung durch die Lehrstühle. Anschließend könnt ihr eine Liste mit Prioritäten angeben und werdet dementsprechend einem Projekt zugeordnet.

Prüfungsordnung

Die Prüfungsordnung ist das wichtigste Dokument für euer Studium, in dem sozusagen „die Regeln“ (Modulwahl, Prüfungen, Notenberechnung…) festgeschrieben sind. Im Folgenden findet ihr einige wichtige Information daraus, bei weiteren Fragen könnt ihr selbst einen Blick hineinwerfen (und uns ggfs. kontaktieren).

Klausurphase

Es gibt pro Semester zwei Klausurphasen. Die Ersttermine werden in den zwei Wochen nach Ende der Vorlesungszeit, die Zweittermine in der letzten Woche vor Vorlesungsbeginn. Einen Überblick über die aktuellen Termine findet ihr hier. Bei den meisten Prüfungen dürft ihr selbst entscheiden, ob ihr zum Erst- oder Zeittermin schreiben wollt. Besteht ihr eine Prüfung zum Zweittermin aber nicht müsst ihr meistens ein Jahr warten um die Prüfung zu wiederholen, da viele Veranstaltungen nur einmal im Jahr angeboten werden.

Prüfungsanmeldung

Jedes Semester gibt es einen zweiwöchigen Zeitraum, in dem man sich für die Klausuren anmelden kann (die Prüfungsanmeldung erfolgt in der Regel im Portal²). Im Herbst-/Winter-Semester befindet sich der Zeitraum gewöhnlich im Oktober, im Frühjahr-/Sommer-Semester im April. Aufgepasst: der Zeitraum zur Prüfungsanmeldung hängt von der Fakultät ab! Der Anmeldezeitraum der Fakultät BWL ist früher als der Anmeldezeitraum der Fakultät Wirtschaftsinformatik und Wirtschaftsmathematik (WIM). Meistens endet er zwei Tage, bevor der andere anfängt, sodass man es natürlich schön leicht vergessen kann. Zur Fakultät BWL zählen alle Business Administration Fundamentals, aber auch Module, die von Herrn Prof. Dr. Heinzl, Herrn Prof. Dr. Becker, Herrn Prof. Dr. Hoehle und Frau Juniorprof. Dr. Krönung. Diese Vier sind Professoren der Area IS, welche zur Fakultät BWL gehört, daher muss hier unbedingt der frühere Anmeldezeitraum beachtet werden.

Solltet ihr einmal vergessen, euch für eine Prüfung anzumelden, könnt ihr euch auch nachträglich anmelden, das kostet dann aber 10€ pro Prüfung. Diese Gebühr fällt auch an, wenn Ihr euch außerhalb des Anmeldezeitraums von einer Klausur abmelden wollt.

Habt ihr eine Prüfung mal nicht bestanden werden ihr zum nächsten möglichen Nachschreibetermin automatisch angemeldet. Von dieser Prüfung könnt ihr euch auch nicht mehr gegen Gebühr abmelden.

Prüfungsrücktritt

Solltet Ihr eine Prüfung zu guter Letzt doch nicht schreiben können/wollen, könnt Ihr nur aus triftigem Grund oder gesundheitlichen Gründen zurücktreten.

Detailliertere Informationen findet ihr auf der Seite des Studienbüros.

Prüfungswiederholung

Grundsätzlich kann eine nicht bestandene Prüfung einmal wiederholt werden. Eine zweite Wiederholung („Joker“) ist im gesamten Studium nur zweimal möglich. Die Master Thesis und das Team Projekt sind von dieser Regelung ausgeschlossen.

Außerdem bietet euch die Möglichkeit eines Modulwechsels, ein nicht bestandenes Modul durch ein anderes auszutauschen und den Fehlversuch „mitzunehmen“.

Anlaufstellen bei Fragen

Falls nach dem Lesen unserer Webseite und der Webseite der Fakultät (www.wim.uni-mannheim.de) noch Fragen offen bleiben, gibt es folgende Ansprechpartner für euch: